When you go from a predominately white high school to a predominately white college, it's easy to lose touch with black culture.

08/06/2013 10:05

" I think it was important to start Shades of Brown because it gave the members involved a chance to share something that is a part of our culture with the Davidson community. There were no Black Greeks as the time, and I used the group to give me something to hold on to that was distinctly a part of African-American culture. At Davidson, there weren't many options for me to do that so I was excited about joining the team. When you go from a predominately white high school to a predominately white college, it's easy to lose touch with black culture. So we have to seek out those opportunities and information that we would not otherwise get."

-Trenita Brookshire, Class of 2005